Monday, May 13, 2013

The 13th Day: Super-Awesome-Bomb-Diggity News

Some people may think that the number 13 is unlucky, but not those of us at The Lucky 13s!

In fact, we're celebrating the 13th day of each month by featuring all the fabulous stuff that's been happening to The Lucky 13s.

Please raise a glass to our super-awesome-bomb-diggity news.... 

Melissa Landers' ALIENATED got some blurbs:
"A perfect blend of sizzling romance, action, and suspense.” 
-# 1 New York Times Bestselling Author Jennifer L. Armentrout.

Amanda Sun sold Indonesian rights for INK to PT Gradien Mediatama.

Lindsey Scheibe's book RIPTIDE got a good Publisher's Weekly review (and it hits shelves May 8).  Here's the link to the review.

Demitria Lunetta's IN THE AFTER was reviewed by Kirkus:
Debut author Lunetta crafts a bang-up, twisty sci-fi adventure/thriller that begs continuation. Plucky, smart, inquisitive Amy’s first-person narration is enjoyably snarky, and this end of the world is original enough to make it a good addition to any collection of post-apocalyptic fiction. Fans will be rabid for IN The End, scheduled for summer 2014. (Science fiction. 13 & up)

Emily Murdoch's IF YOU FIND ME was released in the UK through The Orion Indigo hardback and is the May Booksellers Choice book for The Booksellers magazine!

Caroline Carlson announced that Czech rights to MAGIC MARKS THE SPOT have sold to Host Publishing.

Emma Pass' ACID releases in the UK on 25th April, and now has a release date of 13th June for the Spanish edition, which is being published by Montena/Random House Mondadori with the title LA HUIDA (The Getaway).

Cat Winters sold her second Gothic historical YA novel, THE CURE FOR DREAMING, to Amulet Books. The book is slated to be published Fall 2014.

Sarah Skilton's BRUISED received a review from Booklist:
"Debut author Skilton understands and respects martial arts, and she does a beautiful job presenting the philosophy that drives serious martial artists... Here is a writer to watch who handles complex issues with sensitivity in the vein of Deb Caletti and Sarah Dessen." 
~ Booklist

Elizabeth Ross' BELLE EPOQUE got 3 great reviews:
"With resonant period detail, elegant narration, and a layered exploration of class and friendship, this provocative novel is rife with satisfaction."
–Booklist

"Ross offers not one, but two strong heroines in her debut novel... Both touching and fun, this is a story about many things—true friendship, real beauty, being caught between two worlds—and it will delight fans of historical fiction."
- Publishers Weekly

 "A refreshingly relevant and inspiring historical venture."
–Kirkus

Amy Christine Parker announced that GATED just sold at auction to DTV in Germany. It's slated for a Fall 2014 release.

Liz Fichera announced that HOOKED was nominated by YALSA for Best YA Fiction.  There are also other Luckies nominated too!

Elisabeth Dahl announced that a review of GENIE WISHES appears in the Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books May 2013 issue:
"The author has a keen eye for the tween girl experience: Genie’s plans for the future involve living right by her best friend and working together as dolphin trainers, while the highlight of her summer is the fact that her other friend just joined the pool. This will no doubt resonate with tween girls, and it has the charm and the discussion fodder to make an excellent mother-daughter book club selection.” 
--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Jenn McGowan announced that MAID OF SECRETS got a nice nod from Kirkus:
"This lively and fast-paced debut has plenty of action and plot twists to keep readers fully engaged. (Historical fiction. 12-17)" and the following pull from Booklist: ""Whether recounting her perilous missions or her moral dilemmas, Meg’s first-person narrative is consistently engaging. Meg’s adventure comes to a satisfying conclusion while leaving the door open for sequels."

Kelsey Sutton's SOME QUIET PLACE got a starred Kirkus review:
"Haunting, chilling, and achingly romantic."
-Kirkus Reviews

Elle Cosimano's NEARLY GONE should hit shelves on March 25, 2014.

Amy McCulloch announced that THE OATHBREAKER'S SHADOW got a blurb from the legendary ROBIN HOBB, author of the internationally bestselling The Farseer Trilogy (and much, much more): "The Oathbreaker’s Shadow is a very promising debut in what bodes to be an electrifying duology. Unusual magic set in an exotic location and nomadic culture lures the reader to total immersion in Raim’s world."
- ROBIN HOBB

Elizabeth May's THE FALCONER got a brief, lovely mention in the Guardian article:
"The best young novelists– from SF's universe."


Woo-hoo, Lucky 13s!
Rachele Alpine's young adult comtemporary novel CANARY will be published in August of 2013 by Medallion Press.

She blogs, or you can find her on FacebookTwitter, and Goodreads.http://lindseyscheibe.com/

1 comment:

  1. Great news for everyone, YAY!!!!! Congratulations to all!!

    ReplyDelete